When I was growing up my grandmother would say to me, “If you do not act on the gifts that God has given to you, then you are living in sin.” At the time I did not really innerstand what she meant, although now I see great wisdom and value.

Am I living or just existing? Am I accepting a mediocre job because it is safe and I am not really stretching out there to pursue my real dream? Am I afraid to step outside of my comfort zone to take a chance on doing what it is that I really love to do? Who had responsibility over my heart and spirit but betrayed it by telling me I would not make it? Who told me I was worthless, incapable, or just untalented? Why have I been repeating that to myself? What will it take for my mind to grow into adulthood and realize that sometimes people deflect their own fear of failure onto others?

Everyone has to work and make money, but what am I doing with the proceeds? Am I buying more expensive cars and homes so that I stay in debt and I am forced to continue the vicious cycle of working under someone for survival performing a job, that at best, I am indifferent about? Or am I using my job as a means to promote my true gift, to invest in it so that I can eventually shed someone else’s dream and pursue my own?

If I do not act on the gifts that God has given to me, then I am living in sin. When I live within my destiny and purpose I can reach the highest level of elevation.  To live any less is evidence that healing needs to occur. To live any less is an insult, stating that I do not trust the Creator or the gifts He/She has given to me.  To turn my back on my path is a form of professing lack of faith in myself, my destiny, and perhaps my Creator. In this respect, it is a “sin.”

Passion can be a beautiful thing. Living on purpose can be a beautiful thing. Living in purpose can bring an abundance of balance and blessings, and age is not (and has never been) a deciding factor.

 

